Posted by: forfreedomalone | 19/08/2010

Love for Sale

My day, like many others around the world, usually begins with checking my emails. Daily I get questions from people who are struggling with one issue or another in their lives and we work together to move them forward to freedom. I often encounter ‘advice’ given by well-meaning, but misinformed, people and, usually, am not too bothered by the red herrings thrown into the mix. But the one type of counsel sure to gain a reaction is from people who say “you must change before God can love you”.

This is what I faced this morning.
“I asked my minister to pray for me and he told me that I had to give up my sinful ways before God could hear my prayers. He said God can’t hear people who are in sin. I don’t know what to do! I need help. Even God won’t help me until I change, but I don’t know how to. I have lost hope”

That makes my blood boil and thoughts, which God would not like very much, come to my mind! However, maybe he is not listening.

Where do people get these ideas from? Do they sit about and make things up? Do they really believe what they are saying?
I have no idea. But I do know they are talking rubbish and dangerous rubbish at that.

What kind of being would demand of us the very action which would be produced as a result of love in order to gain that love in the first place?
If love is not free then it cannot set free. If love has to be earned it must demand the highest price of all.
If one has to change to be loved what value has that love? Conditional love is no love at all.

Michael Ball wrote “Love changes everything”, it is the love itself which effects the change. He said “Love will never, never let you be the same”; why? Because there is no greater force in heaven or earth than love.

To know that one is loved, warts and all, is the deepest cry of every soul. To know that you are valued and treasured, just as you are is the knowledge which sets free. Freedom from shame, guilt and fear comes in one small package; the knowledge, deep in your innermost being, that you are loved, right now, right here, just as you are. There is no price you must pay for that love; it is already paid; to you it is free.

Do not listen to anyone who tells you that you are unlovable or unloved! Do not listen to anyone who tells you that God will only love you if you change! Do not listen to people who want to make you suffer for that love!
A price was required but it has been paid, you do not have to pay it. Love, pure love, is free and it is yours right now for the taking.

Responses

  1. I am shocked and amazed that your minister said such a thing to you! If such a thing happened to me, I’m sure that would be the last time that minister saw my face… The Good Lord wants you just as you are! He does not want us all fixed up and wrapped up with a tidy little bow. He knows we are a mess, He created us as we are. Remember, He knows every hair on our heads. He sent us here to test our medal! It’s when we enter into a deep relationship with Him, where our change comes about.
    You are right, the price has been paid already. However, we must try and daily, hourly, minute by minute do our best to please Him.
    Where was Jesus when He walked the Earth? In temple in a holy huddle, stayin put all His days. Nope, He was travelling all over the place preaching to the fallen, the tax collectors, the prostitutes, murders, and Gentiles, oh my. If Jesus walked today, where would He be spending His days…bars, crack houses, I think you get my drift. He paid the price so that not one should perish!
    Day by day, all we can do is our best, some days WILL be better than others. The deeper a relationship we have with the Lord the more the devil gets mad and creates havoc in our lives. If things get too hairy, pray a hedge of protection around you and yours, it helps me. If that doesn’t work I pray a blessing over every nook and cranny of the house. One foot in front of the other, gets you where you are going!
    I’m sorry to say, I think you have out grown your minister. It scares me knowing there is a minister speading those particular views. In my opinion, I think he should go back to seminary…..he seems to be slightly misguided or maybe is a wolf in sheeps clothing .
    By the way, it appears we live in the same province…
    Leslie or ‘ Live In Peace’

  2. Dear Jennifer,
    We must have the same blood type; Boiling!
    The Pharisees that place combersome loads on God’s people are indeed still with us.

    “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You shut the door of the kingdom of heaven in people’s faces.” (Matt 23:13)

    I can testify, it is SUCH freedom to be delivered from a miserable depressing life of trying to earn a kindly glance from God !

    Shalom,
    Renee


Leave a Reply

Categories

