Posted by: forfreedomalone | 10/06/2013

Added information

What a joy it is to me to know that I can be wrong, somewhat wrong, not really wrong but in need of more information and I am still loved!!

I discovered in study that after saying I am not adopted, but born into the family of God that the Romans had a different view of adoption to us.
So I am not wrong about what I said, but there is more to it.

In the society of the day in which the Bible was written, children were a throw away commodity. Quite literally, children were thrown on the city dump if they were not wanted.
They were left to starve and they were given away, there was no sense of, to misquote the RSPCA advert, “a child is for life, not just for Christmas”.

When a child was adopted it had the chance to decide if it wanted to stay with these people and if it did then the adoption was irrevocable. In fact, adoption meant “more than a son”. This unwanted “thing” became a loved, wanted, valued part of a family.

So, in the ancient sense I am adopted!!
I am also born into the same family.

That means I am so VERY much part of this family there is no way I am ever going to be kicked out. The same applies to you, if you are part of the family of God. Both the birth and the adoption are to do with the Father not the siblings, so look up, not sideways for your worth.

He gave birth to you and to make doubly sure he adopted you. There is no doubt whatsoever, you are wanted and loved by God.

Leave a Reply

Categories

