Posted by: forfreedomalone | 03/09/2013

I met God in the baking isle.

I went to the shops yesterday. No big deal, you may say, we all do that. Fair enough, but how many of you met God there?
I did.

I was listening to teaching in the car on the way there and I was praying in the spirit as I walked into the supermarket. I pulled out my list; which, in itself was a miracle as I usually leave it on the kitchen table; and set off down the isles looking for the things I needed.

However, I hadn’t got very far when I realised that I couldn’t concentrate on my prayer and my list. Now, I know that we can, actually, pray in the spirit and do other things with our mind, but for some reason I could not do this yesterday.

I stopped at the end of a row and thought “I either give my attention to the shopping or to God but I can’t do both”. I was shocked that I was in a situation where I had to shop, but to do that I would have to say to God “Sorry, old chap, but you’ll have to wait”. Really, come on!!! NO ONE tells God he has to wait.
So what was I to do? Go home and finish praying then come back later I supposed.

The still small voice said “It’s okay, I’ll wait. You do your shopping”.
I was STUNNED! There is was; God was willing to take second place to shopping!! God was willing to wait!

1 Corinthians 13 came instantly to my mind.
Love is patient and kind; love is not jealous or boastful;
it is not arrogant or rude. Love does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful;
it does not rejoice at wrong, but rejoices in the right.
Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.
Love never ends.

“Love does not insist on its own way, it is never resentful”
God is love and he was not insisting on his own way, he was willing to humbly and quietly wait until I put my attention on my shopping.

This is the God the people who saw Jesus saw. This is the God people who see us should see.
He was not stamping his foot and shouting “HOW DARE YOU!!!!?”. He said “I’ll wait”.

There was no offence, no hurt, no nose out of joint, no huff. Only humility, love and patience.

I went to the shops yesterday and I met God in the baking isle.

Responses

  1. Well made point! We don’t always think about what we are doing, but we tell God to wait all the time. “I just have to do this first”. It’s a good thing He IS patient. In fact it is a Very Good Thing.

    • People often see God as a foot tapping old ogre. He is the very reality of all that we would want him to be. He is patient, he is kind, he never shouts or wags his finger at us. He is the perfect father, teaching us and directing us, but always in a loving way.
      No matter how long he has to wait, he will, because he loves us. He’ll never get fed up and walk away, so if someone has kept him waiting a lifetime, he’ll still be there, waiting and loving.


Leave a Reply

Categories

