Posted by: forfreedomalone | 04/08/2014

How much of God do you have?

I heard someone say “I have all of God living in me” and I was struck by a thought, quite unlike I imagined I would think.
“What arrogance! What foolishness, to think they have all of God!”

As I explored that thought I came to realise that, while it is true that we have been given, in Christ, all that God is; we also have next to none of who God is.
God is and works in paradox. It is a paradox to say “I have all of God” and “I have very little of God”; but it is true and a necessary thought to have.

Without the realisation of how little of God we have we become smug and self satisfied. We stop seeking more and more of him, we settle for knowledge and never battle through to intimate and deep relationship. In intimate and deep relationship we stop, thinking “this is it!”. We struggle in times of trial because we have not plumbed the depths of who he is, we are left with a shallow knowledge and confusion as to why that is not enough.

David, the man God described as “a man after my own heart”, said, “As the deer pants for the water brooks, So my soul pants for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God”.
Did he not know God? Most certainly he did; but he knew how little he knew and he wanted to know more. He wanted a deeper relationship yet……….and when he had it he cried……”As the deer pants for the water brooks, So my soul pants for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God”.

There is no point at which we will ever be able to say “I have all of God”. He is more and larger, greater and more profound than we will ever grasp. We must never neglect, nor ignore, the hunger and thirst of our souls to know him more,because it is from that cry that he replied “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with your whole heart”.

Are we whole heartedly seeking to know him, or are we settling for an introduction and a pleasant chat?
Seek him with everything you are and have, you will never be disappointed, he is there to be discovered. And when you find him, seek more because there is always more of him to find.

Leave a Reply

Categories

