Posted by: forfreedomalone | 10/03/2016

Feeling inadequate?

It is easy when in the company of theologians and scholars to feel overwhelmed by their knowledge, to feel foolish and ignorant by their many words.
It happened to me just the other day.
 
I was in the presence of someone who clearly was widely read and knowledgeable, who could speak with ease on his subject and knew the works of great writters on the Bible.
I felt foolish and overwhelmed. I felt like I had no right to be there.
 
As the conversation wound its way to a question I knew I would have to give an answer and I was fearful of what rubbish I would spout. I knew that I could not lean on my own understanding as I had none. I didn’t even know what he was talking about, so how could I answer him?
 
In that moment the Holy Spirit spoke to me and said “When they bring you before the synagogues and the rulers and the authorities, do not worry about how or what you are to speak in your defense, or what you are to say; for the Holy Spirit will teach you in that very hour what you ought to say.” (Luke 12:11)
 
Suddenly I was at peace and I knew then when I opened my mouth the correct thing would be there. I was looking forward to the interesting debate the Holy Spirit had formulated, to the well defined points and the reasoned argument. “That’ll sort them”, I thought!
But when I spoke it was not just them who were sorted!
 
“For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified” (1 Cor 2:2) was my response and there was nothing anyone could say to that.
 
When you have the perfect answer there is no more to say and we do. Christ, and Him crucified.
 
Do not waste your time on theology, do not concern yourself with what you should say, do not fear those who have more learning than you.
Trust in the Lord with all your heart, acknowledge him and he will make straight your way. He will give you the words to speak and they will be more powerful that all the debates and arguments on earth.
 
At the end of all the many words there is only one thing which really matters. Do you KNOW Christ? Not do you know OF him?
Those who lean on their own understanding may have a great deal of knowledge OF him, but those who KNOW him will be victorious every time.
Responses

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

Categories

